CANCELED Planning Commission Meeting

CANCELED Planning Commission Meeting

Event Date(s): 



6 p.m.


County Commissioners Meeting Room, Charles County Government Building (200 Baltimore St., La Plata)

Contact Name: 

Melissa Hively

Contact Phone: 


Contact Email:

The Planning Commission consists of seven citizens appointed by the County Commissioners. Members are appointed for four year staggered terms. The members are citizen planners chosen from all walks of life & typically do not have formal planning training. The County Commissioners are given authority to appoint a Planning Commission by Article 66B of the Annotated Code of MD. This Article also describes what role and responsibility the Commission has in regulating land use in the County. It specifies that the Planning Commission must develop and recommend for adoption, a Comprehensive Plan for the County. The Planning Commission is also charged with a large portion of its implementation, hearing rezoning requests, and approval authority for subdivision of property in the County Meetings are the 1st & 3rd Monday of every month. Meetings and agendas are advertised on the Counties Automated Response System, web site, and local newspaper.

Main Navigation

Privacy Statement | Disclaimers

Official website of the Charles County Government