Charles County Leaders Take Oath of Office on Dec. 4

For Immediate Release
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 3:30pm

Charles County Leaders Take Oath of Office on Dec. 4

The Charles County Oath of Office Ceremony for Charles County’s elected officials is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 4 at 6 p.m. The event will take place at the Charles County Government Building, Commissioners’ Meeting Room (200 Baltimore Street, La Plata).

The following elected officials will be sworn in at the ceremony: Sharon L. Hancock, Clerk of the Circuit Court; Donine M. Carrington, Associate Judge of the Circuit Court; William R. Greer Jr., Associate Judge of the Circuit Court; J. Lorraine Berry, Judge of the Orphans’ Court; Darlene M. Breck, Judge of the Orphans’ Court; Reginald Kearney, Judge of the Orphans’ Court; Loraine D. Hennessy, Register of Wills; Troy D. Berry, Sheriff; Gilbert “BJ” Bowling, lll, Commissioner (District 1); Thomasina Coates, Commissioner (District 2); Amanda M. Stewart, Commissioner (District 3); Bobby Rucci, Commissioner (District 4); and Reuben C. Collins, II, Commissioner President. 

The Honorable Amy Bragunier, County Administrative Judge of the Circuit Court, will administer the Oath of Office to the Clerk of the Circuit Court Sharon L. Hancock.  Hancock will administer the Oath of Office to the remaining Charles County elected officials.

The Charles County Sheriff’s Office will present colors, the Pledge of Allegiance will be led by Makenzie A. Earle, the National Anthem will be performed by Tynette A. Daniels, and a tribute will be presented by the Upper Marlboro/Waldorf and Fort Washington Chapters of Kappa Alpha Psi. 

The Oath of Office Ceremony will air live on Charles County Government Television (CCGTV) which broadcasts on Comcast channel 95 and Verizon channel 10. The airing of this ceremony will be posted for later viewing on television broadcast on Wednesday, Dec. 5 at 7 p.m. and on the CCGTV Digital Library online. The ceremony is open to the public. 

For more information, contact the Public Information Office at 301-885-2779 or Citizens with special needs may contact the Maryland Relay Service at 711, or Relay Service TDD: 800-735-2258.


About Charles County Government
The mission of Charles County Government is to provide our citizens the highest quality service possible in a timely, efficient and courteous manner. To achieve this goal, our government must be operated in an open and accessible atmosphere, be based on comprehensive long- and short-term planning and have an appropriate managerial organization tempered by fiscal responsibility. We support and encourage efforts to grow a diverse workplace. Charles County is a place where all people thrive and businesses grow and prosper; where the preservation of our heritage and environment is paramount; where government services to its citizens are provided at the highest level of excellence; and where the quality of life is the best in the nation.

It is the policy of Charles County to provide equal employment opportunity to all persons regardless of race, color, sex, age, national origin, religious or political affiliation or opinion, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity or expression, or any other status protected by law.


Main Navigation

Privacy Statement | Disclaimers

Official website of the Charles County Government