Your Government

Your Government


Charles County Board of Commissioners

Terms of Service and Responsibilities 

Charles County is governed by a board of five County Commissioners who are elected at-large to four-year terms. The Charles County Commissioners are responsible for: raising revenues to fund the capital and operating budgets of County departments and agencies; providing for the public health, safety, and welfare of County residents; adopting and updating the Land Use Plan and Zoning Ordinance and overseeing the development process; establishing, promulgating, and enforcing County rules, regulations, ordinances, policies, and procedures; appointing boards, commissions, and task forces to advise them and make recommendations; and fulfilling the mission of Charles County Government and serving on various board and councils in the County, region, and State. The President presides at meetings and hearings of the Commissioners. The President is the only full-time position, and may reside anywhere in the County. The other four Commissioners, who each represent a Commissioner District in which they must reside, are part-time.

Reuben B. Collins, II, Esq., PresidentBobby Rucci, District 4

Reuben B. Collins, II, Esq.

Bobby Rucci, Vice President
District 4

Meeting Schedule

The Commissioners meet on Tuesday each week between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., and on Wednesday each week between 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. in the Commissioners’ Meeting Room on the first floor of the Charles County Government Building. The meetings are aired live on Charles County Government cable television (CCGTV) stations—Comcast channel 95 and Verizon channel 10—and rebroadcast during the week. A live streaming Internet video connection is also available. Also, the Commissioners convene monthly public forums during their meeting sessions to allow citizens time to share their thoughts, opinions, and questions.

A weekly meeting agenda is published each Thursday on the BoardDocs website, each Friday in the Maryland Independent newspaper, and recorded on the County's Automated Telephone Response System, available by calling 301-645-0600, then pressing "2" after the introductory message.

In order to accommodate citizens who may be unable to meet during regular business hours, the Commissioners conduct annual Town Meetings in each of the Commissioner-Resident Districts.

Agenda and Minutes (BoardDocs)

External Request for Appointment Form

Commissioner-Appointed Boards, Committees, and Commissions

Vacancies and application deadlines for Commissioner-appointed boards, committees, and commissions are advertised through the local news media and on the County's website. Interested applicants can find a listing of current vacancies and can access the on-line application for Commissioner-appointed boards, committees and commissions on the County’s websitefacebook page and via the Citizen Notification Service (CNS) alerts.

Goals and Objectives


Main Navigation

Privacy Statement | Disclaimers

Official website of the Charles County Government